Welcome Message

The English Academy Primary Department consists of Early Years, Infants and Juniors.

There are four to five classes in each year group, named after colours; Blue, Green, Red, Tangerine and Yellow. E.g. 1B, 1G, 1R, 1T, 1Y.

In TEA we follow the National Curriculum of England and Wales. To enrich the children’s learning throughout the year, they participate in Literacy, Health and International weeks. They learn about authors, countries and their health in fun and interactive ways.

Early Years

Early Years learning concentrates on seven areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematical Development
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The areas in bold are the prime areas which form the foundation for all the other areas.

Teaching is often done through play, where the child learns about subjects and other people through games.  Learning takes place through a variety of fun and creative activities including; Music, Role play, ICT and Educational Field Trips.


We plan cross-curricular themes which make fun and exciting links between the different subjects. Children learn about History, Geography, Art, Science and Literacy through engaging topics such as, Home Sweet Home and The Magic Carpet.


Children have fun and motivating lessons in Maths, Literacy, Science, Humanities, Art, Music, ICT and PE. Teachers have high expectations of all the pupils, and strive to make this an enjoyable and safe learning environment, based on mutual respect, and positive behaviour.